Maker Hub: Open Lab

Discover, create, prototype, and have fun in an open, unguided environment. Learn in your own way, focused on your own project.

Sign In

  • Visit the Downtown Library’s 3rd floor desk.
  • Admission is first-come, first-served; limit of 10 people at a time.
  • Admission is free; consumable products are charged at cost.

Requirements

Open Lab Schedule

3D  Printing and Fabrication

Create 3D models and prototypes, print designs on vinyl or cardstock with an electronic cutting machine, and more.

Tools available for use include 3D printer (Lulzbot Taz 5), 3D scanner, 3D printing pens, 3D modeling software, electronic cutting machine (Silhouette Cameo), laptop computers. More information

Tues., Sept. 6, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Sept. 8, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Sept. 10, 11:30-1:30

Tues., Oct. 4, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Oct. 6, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Oct. 8, 11:30-1:30

Textile Arts

Bring fabric, thread, yarn, or other materials to create with the Library’s equipment.

Tools available for use include sewing machines, serger, embroidery machine, hand looms, knitting needles, crochet hooks, dress form, embroidery hoops, needles, pins, shears, tailor’s chalk, steam iron, tape measures. More information

Tues., Sept. 13, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Sept. 15, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Sept. 17, 11:30-1:30

Tues., Oct. 11, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Oct. 13, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Oct. 15, 11:30-1:30

Electronics and Robotics

Explore circuitry with microcontrollers, build and program robots, light up drawings with paper circuits, and more.

Tools available for use include Raspberry Pis, Arduinos, LittleBits, Makey Makey invention kits, Finch robots, EggBot art robot, Lego Mindstorms, Circuit Scribe Conductive Ink Pens, copper tape, LEDs, coin batteries, breadboards, hobby motors, servo motors, capacitors, pulse sensors. More information

Tues., Sept. 20, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Sept. 22, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Sept. 24, 11:30-1:30

Tues., Oct. 18, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Oct. 20, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Oct. 22, 11:30-1:30

Paper and Handcrafts

Create with tools and supplies for drawing, origami, button making, beading, and more.
 
Tools available for use include drawing paper, origami paper, colored pencils, fine point markers, letters and numbers stamp set, glue guns, scissors, beading boards and mats, wire pliers. More information

Tues., Sept. 27, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Sept. 29, 1:30-7:30

Sat Oct. 1, 11:30-1:30
Tues., Oct. 25, 1:30-5:30
Thurs., Oct. 27, 1:30-7:30
Sat., Oct. 29, 11:30-1:30

Media Editing and Graphic Design

Use state-of-the art equipment for audio, video, and design projects.

Tools available for use include Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, Premiere, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, After Effects, InDesign), Audacity, Autodesk SketchBook, Inkscape, Windows laptops, and Wacom tablets. More information

Media Editing and Graphic Design Open Labs are offered in months that include a fifth week. These tools are also available to use anytime in the Media Lab.