Sustainability Commission

Upcoming Meetings

ESC Regular Meeting Wednesday, December 16, 2020

The Sustainability Commission will meet on Wednesday December 16, 2020 5:30 pm for its monthly meeting. Agenda materials and a webinar link will be posted below.  Please take note of any additional meeting information.

Zoom Webinar Link and Meeting Information

Waste Reduction Committee, Mtg #3

The Waste Reduction Committee will meet on Tuesday, January 5th at 5 PM. This committee will evaluate policy recommendations for City Council to consider to reduce waste within the Eugene area.  Agenda materials and a webinar link will be posted below at a later date.

Sustainability Commission Meeting Recordings per HB 4212

Meeting recordings are available on this website for 30 days. After 30 days, please contact Sustainability Program Staff for access to the meeting recordings.

Regular Commission Meetings

Committee Meetings

Sustainability Commission and COVID-19

Some committee meetings have been suspended to slow the spread of COVID-19. You can find specific updates on meetings, events, programs and facilities on this website:  Sustainability Commission Meeting and Committee Meeting recordings are available below for public viewing.

General updates from the City regarding COVID-19 are available on this website:

About the Eugene Sustainability Commission

Mission Statement

The Sustainability Commission works to create a healthy community now and in the future by proposing measurable solutions to pressing environmental, social and economic concerns to the City of Eugene, its partners and its people. 

There are a total of 13 commissioners. See the current commissioner roster for information about the appointments and terms.


The commission acts as a policy advisory body to the Council and City Manager in the initiation or development of programs that will create or enhance sustainable practices within the community. The commission advises on policy matters related to:

  • Sustainable practices
  • Businesses that produce sustainable products and services
  • City building design and infrastructure
  • Related issues that directly affect sustainability efforts considered by the City Council


The Sustainability Commission was created in March 2007, (by Ordinance No. 20379), following a recommendation from the mayor’s Sustainable Business Initiative task force. 

The commission focuses on all three aspects of sustainability:

  1. Social equity
  2. Environmental health
  3. Economic prosperity

Additional Information

Learn about other boards and commissions.

Contact Us

  1. Office of Sustainability

    125 East 8th Ave.
    2nd Floor
    Eugene, OR 97401
    Ph: 541-682-5649