Face Covering Guidance
Face Coverings Required Statewide
Masks, face shields and face coverings are currently required statewide for indoor public spaces. In addition, face coverings are required in outdoor public spaces when physical distancing is not possible, effective July 15.
Children over the age of 2 and under the age of 12 are recommended, but not required, to wear a mask, face shield or face covering. People with a disability or medical condition may request accommodation from the business if they cannot wear a mask, face shield or face covering.
Why It Is Important to Wear a Face Covering
According to the CDC, cloth face coverings may help prevent people who have COVID-19 from spreading the virus to others. Wearing a cloth face covering will help protect people around you, including those at higher risk of severe illness from COVID-19 and workers who frequently come into close contact with other people (e.g., in stores and restaurants). Cloth face coverings are most likely to reduce the spread of COVID-19 when they are widely used by people in public settings. The spread of COVID-19 can be reduced when cloth face coverings are used along with other preventive measures, including social distancing, frequent handwashing, and cleaning and disinfecting frequently touched surfaces.
Businesses must require employees, contractors, volunteers, customers and visitors to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering, unless an accommodation or exemption is required by law or if an exemption listed by the Oregon Health Authority applies.
"Businesses" include, but are not limited to:
- Grocery stores
- Fitness-related organizations
- Indoor licensed swimming pools, licensed spa pools and sports court operators
- Indoor entertainment operators
- Indoor recreational sports operators for specified sports
- Indoor venue operators
- Public transit agencies and providers
- Personal services providers
- Restaurants, bars, breweries, brewpubs, wineries, tasting room and distilleries
- Retail stores, shopping centers and malls
- Ride sharing services
Read full guidance from the Oregon Health Authority including listed exemptions and what business "must" and "should" provide.
Download a Masks-Required Sign for Businesses.
Also see the State of Oregon’s social media toolkit to help raise awareness about the importance of wearing face coverings.
Children under the age of 2 are not required to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering.
However, it is strongly recommended that children between 2 and 12 years of age, wear a mask, face shield, or face covering at all times in all indoor spaces open to the public, particularly in places where it is likely that physical distancing of at least 6 feet from other individuals outside their household unit cannot be maintained, and where vulnerable people may go.
Because children between the ages of 2 and 12 years of age can have challenges wearing a mask, face shield, or face covering properly (e.g., excessively touching the face covering, not changing the face covering if visibly soiled, risk of strangulation or suffocation, etc.) public health officials urge that if masks, face shields or face coverings are worn by this age group, that they be worn with the assistance and close supervision of an adult. Masks, face shields, or face coverings should never be worn by children when sleeping.
- Statewide Mask, Face Shield, Face Covering Guidance (Oregon Health Authority)
- Frequently Asked Questions About Guidance for Masks, Face Shields and Face Coverings (Oregon Health Authority)
- Face Covering Facts (Oregon Health Authority)
- Use of Cloth Face Coverings to Help Slow the Spread of COVID-19 (CDC)
- News Release: Governor Kate Brown Extends Face Coverings Requirement Statewide (June 29, 2020)