Mayor and City Council

City of Eugene Elected Officials


The mayor serves as the City’s political head and chairperson of the council. She is elected by the City at large on a nonpartisan ballot for a four-year term. The mayor is the formal representative of the City. She presides over City Council meetings but has no vote except in the case of a tie. 

City Council

The City Council, Eugene’s legislative body, has eight members and is responsible for passing laws, setting community goals, adopting policy and deciding which services the City will provide. Councilors are elected on a nonpartisan ballot for four-year terms. One councilor is elected from each of eight wards with one-half of the council elected every two years. Don’t know who represents you? Find your ward.

Mayor Kitty Piercy

Mayor Lucy Vinis

01/2017 - 01/2021

Emily Semple, Ward 1

Emily Semple,
Ward 1

01/2017 - 01/2021

Betty Taylor, Ward 2

Betty Taylor, 
Ward 2

01/2017 - 01/2021

Alan Zelenka, Ward 3

Alan Zelenka,
Ward 3

01/2019 - 01/2023

Jennifer Yeh, Ward 4

Jennifer Yeh,
Ward 4

01/2019 - 01/2023

City Councilor Mike Clark

Mike Clark,
Ward 5

01/2019 - 01/2023

Greg Evans, Ward 6

Greg Evans,
Ward 6

01/2019 - 01/2023

Claire Syrett, Ward 7

Claire Syrett,
Ward 7

01/2017- 01/2021

Chris Pryor, Ward 8

Chris Pryor,
Ward 8

01/2017 - 01/2021