Eugene Police have arrested Timothy Schley, age 29, of Eugene, in connection with sexual abuse of a Willamette High School student. Officials from Bethel School District have helped with the investigation.
On February 7, EPD School Resource Team was called to investigate a reported sex abuse of a minor by Schley, who worked for Willamette High School as an athletic trainer. Schley turned himself in today at 1 p.m., to Eugene Police at 300 Country Club Road. He has been lodged at the Lane County Jail on a charge of Sexual Abuse in the Second Degree.
Anyone with relevant information in the case can call Eugene Police School Resource Team Officer Steve Timm at 541-689-0731, ext. 4097.
GENERAL INFORMATION FROM OREGON REVISED STATUTE
163.425 Sexual abuse in the second degree. (1) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the second degree when:
(a) The person subjects another person to sexual intercourse, deviate sexual intercourse or, except as provided in ORS 163.412, penetration of the vagina, anus or penis with any object other than the penis or mouth of the actor and the victim does not consent thereto; or
(b)(A) The person violates ORS 163.415 (1)(a)(B);
(B) The person is 21 years of age or older; and
(C) At any time before the commission of the offense, the person was the victim’s coach as defined in ORS 163.426.
(2) Sexual abuse in the second degree is a Class C felony. [1971 c.743 §116; 1983 c.564 §1; 1991 c.386 §14; 1991 c.830 §2; 2009 c.876 §2]
163.426 Crime category classification for sexual abuse in the second degree. (1) As used in this section, “coach” means a person who instructs or trains an individual or members of a team in a sport.
(2) The Oregon Criminal Justice Commission shall classify sexual abuse in the second degree as described in ORS 163.425 (1)(a) as a crime category 8 of the sentencing guidelines grid of the commission if:
(a) The victim is incapable of consent by reason of being under 18 years of age;
(b) The offender is 21 years of age or older; and
(c) At any time before the commission of the offense, the offender was the victim’s coach. [2009 c.876 §1]
Note: 163.426 was enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS chapter 163 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation
163.415 Sexual abuse in the third degree. (1) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the third degree if:
(a) The person subjects another person to sexual contact and:
(A) The victim does not consent to the sexual contact; or
(B) The victim is incapable of consent by reason of being under 18 years of age; or
(b) For the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the person or another person, the person intentionally propels any dangerous substance at a victim without the consent of the victim.
(2) Sexual abuse in the third degree is a Class A misdemeanor.
(3) As used in this section, “dangerous substance” means blood, urine, semen or feces. [1971 c.743 §115; 1979 c.489 §1; 1991 c.830 §1; 1995 c.657 §11; 1995 c.671 §9; 2009 c.616 §1]