In May, Lane County voters will decide whether Lane County should establish a county vehicle registration fee. If authorized by the voters, 40% of the funds will be shared with the incorporated cities throughout the county.
The proposed Lane County registration fee amount is $35 per year for most vehicles and $20 per year for motorcycles and mopeds. $35 per year is equivalent to $2.92 per month.
If adopted, the county fee would be collected by Oregon DMV at the same time motorists obtain or renew their state vehicle registration. Most new vehicles are registered for a four-year period; subsequent renewals typically occur every two years. Certain vehicles would be exempt from the county fee under state law. Disabled veteran, government, school, farm, antique, special interest and recreational vehicles and heavy vehicles paying the weight-mile tax would be exempt from the fee under state law.
If adopted the $35 annual fee would generate approximately $11 million countywide. Approximately $6.6 million would go to the county and $4.4 million to cities based on population. The eight largest cities and projected revenues are: Eugene (about $2.7 million); Springfield (about $1 million); Cottage Grove (about $165,000); Florence (about $145,000); Junction City (about $94,000); Creswell (about $85,000); Veneta (about $80,000) and Oakridge (about $55,000).
Oregon’s Constitution requires taxes and fees on motor vehicle fuel and use, including vehicle registration fees, to be used exclusively for the construction, reconstruction, improvement, repair, maintenance and operation or use of public highways, roads, streets and roadside rest areas in this state.