News Home
The original item was published from 7/1/2016 3:07:27 PM to 9/4/2020 1:48:15 PM.

News

Police

Posted on: July 1, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Fireworks - Keep it safe, keep it legal.

Eugene Springfield Fire and Eugene Police and the Metro Explosive Disposal Unit have taken steps to reduce the volume of unlawful fireworks displays, including through public service announcements, education and enforcement. The goal is to raise awareness and reduce illegal fireworks hazards.

As people start to use fireworks, calls to 911 increase, which impacts the ability to respond to immediate life health/safety incidents. The line to call to report illegal fireworks use in progress is 541-682-5111. Please keep 911 lines free for those immediate threats to life, health and safety.

Legal fireworks in Oregon can be sold from June 23 through July 6 of each year. These include fountains, spinners and wheels available at retail fireworks outlets. Additionally, legal fireworks produce only smoke, sparks or fire but DO NOT explode, eject balls or fire, fly into the air more than 12 inches or travel more than 6 feet on the ground. When both legal and illegal fireworks are improperly handled, injuries and fire damage occur.

Illegal fireworks include but are not limited to, fire crackers, bottle rockets and roman candles, fly into the air, explode and behave in an uncontrolled and unpredictable manner. Illegal fireworks are extremely dangerous and create extreme fire danger. Possession of illegal fireworks is a class B misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of $2,500 and 6 months in jail. Cherry bombs, M-80’s and larger and any legal or illegal firework that has been modified are considered an EXPLOSIVE DEVICE and should not be handled. Call the Eugene Police Department at 541.682.5111 and do not transport.

There will be enhanced police and fire resources dedicated to this effort on both July 4 and July 5. They will respond proactively when they see or hear illegal fireworks. To report illegal fireworks within the Eugene city limits, call 541.682.5111. Please do not call 911 unless there is an immediate fire/safety life threat as 911 needs to be kept free for people with immediate medical and public safety emergencies.

What are Legal Fireworks?
Legal fireworks in Oregon can be sold from June 23 through July 6 of each year. These include fountains, spinners and wheels available at retail fireworks outlets. Additionally, legal fireworks produce only smoke, sparks or fire but DO NOT explode, eject balls of fire, fly into the air more than 12 inches or travel more than six feet on the ground. When both legal and illegal fireworks are improperly handled, injuries and fire damage occur.
Illegal fireworks include but are not limited to, fire crackers, bottle rockets and roman candles, fly into the air, explode and behave in an uncontrolled and unpredictable manner. Illegal fireworks are extremely dangerous and create extreme fire danger. Possession of illegal fireworks is a class B misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of $2,500 and six months in jail.
Cherry bombs, M-80’s and larger and any legal or illegal firework that has been modified are considered an EXPLOSIVE DEVICE and should not be handled. Call the Eugene Police Department immediately and do not transport.

More info at Oregon State Fire Marshal’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm

Reporting Illegal Fireworks
Report illegal fireworks use in progress: 541-682-5111. Please leave 911 lines free for life/safety emergencies.
Safety info at: www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm

City Code
On June 24, 2014, the City Council made two changes to City Code. They are:
1) Within Eugene, fireworks that are legal for retail purchase can be used only between June 23 and July 6 and December 31 and January 1. (City Code 4.934). Violation of the ordinance has a base fine that has been set at $250.
2) The use of illegal fireworks during anytime of the year, or the use of fireworks that are legal for retail purchase other than between June 23 and July 6 and December 31 and January 1, has been added to the Social Host ordinance ( 4.670).

The social host, or ordinance on unruly gatherings, holds individuals criminally responsible for hosting, organizing and allowing an unruly event or social gathering. Property owners where the event is hosted will also be penalized if there are multiple violations of this ordinance at the same property. The Eugene Municipal Court has assigned a base fine of $375 for criminal violations of this ordinance. Both hosts and property owners could be civilly liable for police, fire and public works response to repeated illegal gatherings that fall under this ordinance.

Information about fireworks has been sent out through media/social media, Neighborhood Watch groups, Neighborhood Associations, and fireworks vendors.

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email