News Home
The original item was published from 2/6/2017 4:01:13 PM to 3/14/2019 12:00:06 AM.

News

Police

Posted on: February 6, 2017

[ARCHIVED] EPD Participating In 2-week Statewide Traffic Safety Campaign

Beginning February 6, the Eugene Police Traffic Enforcement Unit will be participating in a statewide traffic safety campaign called “3-Flags”. The 3-Flags Traffic Safety Campaign is a 2-week state-wide selective traffic enforcement program which seeks to reduce the number of motor vehicle related deaths and injuries by increasing public awareness about the three most prevalent factors contributing to traffic crash injuries: failure to use or improper use of safety restraints, speeding, and distracted driving while using a cell phone.  While these goals are pursued year-round by many agencies, including EPD and the Springfield Police Department, the 3-Flags campaign provides federal funding for overtime which allows officers statewide to join together for two-week periods of intensive, high-visibility enforcement. 


Lack of or improper use of seatbelts continues to play a significant factor in the number of Oregon motor vehicle occupant deaths. The Traffic Enforcement Unit would like to remind motorists that seatbelts must be worn in the manner in which they are specifically designed in order to be in compliance with the law. Wearing a shoulder belt under your arm is against the law and can result in a citation. 


It’s also important that motorists are familiar with current child safety seat laws. Infants are required to ride in rear-facing safety seats until they reach both one year of age AND twenty pounds. Children over one year old AND between 20 and 40 pounds must be properly secured with a forward-facing child safety seat. Children who weigh over 40 pounds must be properly secured in a booster seat until they are 8 years old OR 4’9 in height. Children who are at least 8 years old or 4’9 tall may graduate to an adult safety belt, but only if it fits them properly.


Additionally, the Eugene Police Traffic Enforcement Unit would like to assist motorists with the proper installation of child safety seats. If you would like to receive assistance with the proper installation of your child safety seats, please call the Eugene Police Traffic Enforcement Unit at 541-682-5157 to make an appointment.


3-minute video explaining Oregon belt & child seat laws at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL33vP2eOdc

Eugene Police 30-second video on Distracted Driving

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XcpILq-LG6c


Or get more details at:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/Pages/safetybelts.aspx

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police

Handcuffs

Key Bank Robbery Suspect Arrested

Posted on: January 24, 2023
Citizen Police Academy background

Apply now for the Citizen Police Academy

Posted on: January 24, 2023

Welcome to "Virtual" Safety Town

Posted on: August 26, 2020

Rape Reported off Oakway Road

Posted on: August 17, 2020