News Home
The original item was published from 3/24/2020 5:14:00 PM to 9/4/2020 1:49:58 PM.

News

Police

Posted on: March 24, 2020

[ARCHIVED] The Governor's Stay Home Order and Local Enforcement Steps

People are asking questions about enforcement of the Governor’s Stay Home Save Lives order. Eugene Police’s response is similar to the responses of Oregon State Police, Oregon Association Chiefs of Police and Oregon State Sheriff’s Association: 

 

EPD prefers to gain  compliance by educating people who are not following the governor’s orders. It is not our intent at this point, that officers be proactively seeking out violators unless the behavior appears egregious in nature. 

 

While for the most part, any response will be complaint driven, we wish to keep our 911 call takers and officers  going to life/safety calls. Officers can issue warnings. Citations and arrests are our last resort. 

 

We believe Eugene’s residents are compassionate and will be making every effort they can to safeguard our community’s health. Peer pressure is a powerful motivator and people may choose to self-educate their friends and neighbors. 


Please note: The governor’s order is a legally enforceable. Failure to comply with the Executive Order would be considered an immediate danger to public health.  If there were to be a citation or arrest, it is a Class C misdemeanor (up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,250, or both).


Facebook Twitter Email