News Home
The original item was published from 12/30/2020 9:51:00 AM to 12/30/2020 10:10:52 AM.

News

Police

Posted on: December 30, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Fireworks: Keep celebrations safe, legal

Eugene Police Headquarters Sign

Fireworks are a traditional way to celebrate some holidays, but they can be noisy and an extreme fire hazard. Please be mindful of people in your neighborhood who may be sensitive to loud noises, due to PTSD or other conditions. Especially combat veterans, who deserve our every comfort after their service, can be impacted by the sounds and sights of illegal fireworks. Also many pets are lost each year due to reactions to fireworks.

Consumer fireworks discharges within the Eugene city limits are restricted to December 31 and January 1, and July 3 and 4. 

 To report illegal fireworks within the Eugene city limits, call 541.682.5111. The base fine for illegal fireworks is $250.


What are Legal Fireworks? 

Legal fireworks in Oregon can be sold from June 23 through July 6 of each year. These include fountains, spinners and wheels available at retail fireworks outlets. Additionally, legal fireworks produce only smoke, sparks or fire but DO NOT explode, eject balls of fire, fly into the air more than 12 inches or travel more than six feet on the ground. When both legal and illegal fireworks are improperly handled, injuries and fire damage occur.

People often ask questions about sparklers. The Oregon State Fire Marshal’s website information states that wood core sparklers are considered legal retail fireworks and as such, would be subject to the new code. The 10-inch wire core sparklers are considered an unclassified item and not a firework and can be sold and used throughout the year.  

 Illegal fireworks include but are not limited to, fire crackers, bottle rockets and roman candles, fly into the air, explode and behave in an uncontrolled and unpredictable manner. Illegal fireworks are extremely dangerous and create extreme fire danger. Possession of illegal fireworks is a class B misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of $2,500 and six months in jail.

 Cherry bombs, M-80’s and larger and any legal or illegal firework that has been modified are considered an EXPLOSIVE DEVICE and should not be handled. Call the Eugene Police Department immediately and do not transport.

More info at Oregon State Fire Marshal’s website at http://www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police

Front wall at EPD Headquarters

Don't fall for scams!

Posted on: January 31, 2023
Citizen Police Academy background

Apply now for the Citizen Police Academy

Posted on: January 24, 2023

Welcome to "Virtual" Safety Town

Posted on: August 26, 2020

Rape Reported off Oakway Road

Posted on: August 17, 2020