News Home
The original item was published from 4/1/2022 10:20:27 AM to 4/9/2022 12:00:07 AM.

News

Police

Posted on: April 1, 2022

[ARCHIVED] U Drive. U Text. U Pay

woman drinking beverage and on cell phone

U Drive. U Text. U Pay is a campaign Oregon Department of Transportation is bringing to the state. April is Oregon Impact’s “Distracted Driving Awareness Month” and Eugene Police Traffic Safety Unit and others across the state will be conducting special enforcement April 4 through April 11 to make the roads safer and reinforce safer driving behavior. 


April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month campaign. Eugene Police, in alignment with this, will be providing education and enforcement to focus on how dangerous it is to drive distracted. Eugene Police Traffic Safety Unit will conduct several enforcements in April and will be posting for overtime enforcement throughout the month to support these efforts.

 

When someone diverts their attention from driving to something else, they are in the danger zone – for crashes, and for citations. It is illegal in Oregon to drive while holding or using an electronic device (e.g. cell phone, tablet, GPS, laptop). There are some exceptions, but for the most part, it’s best just to turn off your device when you are driving. 

Distracted driving is one of the fastest growing safety issues on the roads today. Distracted drivers are not just a threat to themselves; they are a danger to everyone else on the road. The national distracted driving effort focuses on ways to change the behavior of drivers through legislation, enforcement, public awareness, and education. 

 

Resource page: 

https://www.trafficsafetymarketing.gov/get-materials/distracted-driving/u-drive-u-text-u-pay

 

Here are a few cases where the law does not apply:  

·         When using hands-free or built-in devices, if you are 18 years of age or older.

·         Use of a single touch or swipe to activate or deactivate the device.

·         When parked safely, i.e., stopped in a designated parking spot. - However, it is NOT legal to use the device when stopped at a stop light, stop sign, in traffic, etc.

·         While providing or summoning medical help and no one else is available to make the call.

·         Police, fire, EMS providers in the scope of employment, (can include when in a personal vehicle if, for example, when responding to an emergency call). 

·         To truck or bus drivers following the federal rules for CDL holders.

·         When using a two-way radio if you are a CB user, school bus driver, utility truck driver in scope of employment.

·         If you are a HAM radio operator age 18 years or older.

 

Violations: 

 

A first offense that doesn’t contribute to a crash is a Class B violation and the Eugene fine is $300 or maximum fine of $1,000. A second offense, or if the first offense contributes to a crash, is Class A violation with a fine of $500 or maximum fine of $2,500. A third offense in ten years is a Class B misdemeanor. A conviction for a Class B misdemeanor in Oregon can result in up to six months in jail, a fine of as much as $2,500, or both

 

For a first offense that does not contribute to a crash, the court may suspend the fine* if the driver completes an approved distracted driving avoidance class, and shows proof to the court, within four months. *Only the fine is suspended – the violation will still be recorded on the offender’s driving record.

 

Eugene Police Department, Distracted Driving PSA 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XcpILq-LG6c

 

 

Facebook Twitter Email