News Home
The original item was published from 6/6/2013 8:44:17 AM to 9/4/2020 9:28:12 AM.

News

Police

Posted on: June 6, 2013

[ARCHIVED] Click It or Ticket Enforcement Results

From Monday, May 20, through Sunday June 2, Eugene Police issued 503 total citations as part of the Click it or Ticket Seatbelt enforcement.

The lack of seatbelts were not the only infractions noticed. In addition to 44 citations for not adults not wearing seatbelts, EPD issued citations issued for:

• Driving While Using Cell Phone: 39
• Child 13-17 without a seatbelt: 2
• Ages 18-20 without a seatbelt: 5
• Speeding: 130

Last year, there were 1,038 child passengers under age four injured in Oregon traffic crashes last year. A third of these children were improperly restrained or unrestrained. Last year in Oregon, 61 people died in crashes and were not wearing their safety belts. Proper use of safety belt and child safety systems can reduce the risk of crash injury by as much as 70 percent or more.

Click it or Ticket is a nationwide selective traffic enforcement program that seeks to reduce the number of motor vehicle related deaths and injuries by increasing public awareness of laws regarding safety restraint use during the day and the night. Even though the special enforcement period is over, EPD’s Traffic Enforcement Unit would like to remind motorists that seatbelts must be worn in the manner which they are specifically designed in order to be in compliance with the law and that citations will still be issued if officers observe a lack of seatbelt use.

Wearing a shoulder belt under your arm is against the law and can result in being issued a citation.

Infants are required to ride in rear-facing safety seats until they reach both one year of age AND twenty pounds. Children over one year old AND between 20 and 40 pounds must be properly secured with a forward-facing child safety seat. Children who weigh more than 40 pounds or who have reached the upper weight limit of their forward-facing child safety seat, must be properly secured in a booster seat until they are 8-years-old OR 4’9” tall. Children who are at least 8 years old or 4’9” tall may graduate to an adult safety belt, but only if it fits them properly.

The Traffic Enforcement Unit would like to assist motorists with the proper installation of child safety seats. If you would like to receive assistance with the proper installation of your child safety seats, please call the Eugene Police Traffic Enforcement Unit at 682-5157 to make an appointment.

####

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police

Front wall at EPD Headquarters

Don't fall for scams!

Posted on: January 31, 2023
Citizen Police Academy background

Apply now for the Citizen Police Academy

Posted on: January 24, 2023

Welcome to "Virtual" Safety Town

Posted on: August 26, 2020

Rape Reported off Oakway Road

Posted on: August 17, 2020